MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF FRANKLIN COUNTY WATER DISTRICT AND FRANKLIN COUNTY COMMISSIONERS' COURT HELD: April 12, 1983

THE STATE OF TEXAS

FRANKLIN COUNTY WATER DISTRICT

COUNTY OF FRANKLIN

ON THIS the 12th day of April, 1983, the Board of Directors of the Franklin County Water District convened in CALLED SESSION in the District Court Room in Franklin County Courthouse, Mt. Vernon, Texas, with the following members present:

BILLY JORDAN A. J. LAWS JEARL COOPER T. A. GREEN ELWYN CARR PRESIDENT VICE PRESIDENT SECRETARY DIRECTOR DIRECTOR

and with the following members absent: None.

Also present were County Commissioner R. D. Crowston; County Judge W. B. Meek; Attorney Cass Taliaferro; Water District Manager E. C. Withers; and Office Manager for the District, Shirley Maples.

Cass Taliaferro was appointed presiding officer for the meeting and he declared same open for discussion.

NOTICE of this Meeting was given, stating the time, place and purpose, all as required by Vernon's Ann. Civ. Statutes, Article 6252-17.

The issues at hand were:

- 1. Consolidation of elections
- 2. Change of election date for the District, and
- 3. Any matter related thereto.

After a lengthy discussion, MOTION was made by Billy Jordan and SECONDED by Jearl Cooper, to pursue a combine election. Facts to be submitted to Sam Russell requesting action to combine the election of the District and the County, allowing the use of one set of judges, one ballot, etc. The date for same should be left open but to specify the earliest possible date. The Presiding Officer put the question and the vote was as follows: AYES: Billy Jordan, T. A. Green, Elwyn Carr, Jearl Cooper and A. J. Laws. NOES: None.

The Commissioners' Court could not make any decision for lack of a quorum.

Issues to be settled should such legislation be possible would be the term of office of District Directors, costs of the election, etc.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned.

MINUTES approved this the 9th day of May, 1983.

Billy M. Jordan, President A.J. Laws, Vice President

Jearl Cooper, Secretary T. A. Green, Director Elwyn Carr, Director